Junk in my hot little paws

Welcome to my blog. I trust you have read my “About.” Some years ago, I noticed that no matter what I wear, on me it looks much cheaper than it should. This means I cannot wear cheap clothes, because then I look like a bag lady.

The same mysterious devaluation happens to a lot of things I buy (though not all, by a long shot). Elegantly designed or clever or pretty they may be, but once I get them in my hot little paws, they mostly turn into junk. I enjoy them for a little while, then they go into boxes, then the boxes go into my storage unit, where eventually the fire sprinklers go off accidentally and ruin the boxes.

But the fact that these objects turn into junk does not mitigate the marvelousness of the things, at least before the water ruins them. I would like to introduce you to these things of quality in case you would like to get them for yourself or someone else.

Fifteen PuzzleHere is a terrific example of something neat, cool, keen, and groovy that I have no use for, that therefore is junk I cannot bring myself to get rid of: A metal fifteen puzzle in a stitched pouch. It feels good in the hand, solid, and the tiles never start to stick or rise up as in cheap plastic puzzles. The pouch fits perfectly and closes with a satisfying metal snap. I strongly urge you to buy one if you or someone in your life would appreciate its fine design and manufacture.

I have never in my life managed to solve one of these puzzles, and I don’t anticipate I ever will. But I cannot bear to get rid of this one. It is too nicely made, and I would want to give it to the perfect recipient who would appreciate its quality. I never have run across someone like that.

At this point when I have spoken in person of my packratting, someone invariably says, “Why can’t you keep it? It’s just one small thing.” But the problem with having a hoarding tendency is that everything is just one small thing, and they add up to bulk and weight and too many things to keep track of. Once they go into a box, if I get a sudden impulse to enjoy them, I cannot find them in the boxes full of chowder. (Apparently, movers call the contents of such mixed, dense boxes “chowder.”)

I have identified six major categories of things I should not buy, no matter how wonderful they are and how wonderful they would be in someone else’s hands. It could be said that all six fit everything; but one category usually fits best.

  1. Useless to me
  2. Just won’t use
  3. Enough already
  4. Too expensive
  5. Needs maintenance
  6. No space for it

I will leave it at that for tonight.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

